Money saving options and ideas

Save with the microwave oven.

So here is my first blog post about a topic I think would interest everyone. Money. I have tried to explore ways to cut back on things I  spend a lot of money on , as well as find some alternatives to making those dollars last as long as possible.  Making a conscious effort everyday to  use what I have at home before going out to spend money on morning conveniences.   Brewing the coffee at home, the time consuming experience of  scrambling an egg with bacon.

Hey ! I just discovered how to scramble an egg in 2 minutes and cook some bacon in about 4 minutes with out using a frying pan! Great!

Using the microwave… who knew ? Surely  I didn’t, but I saved about $5.00, by not purchasing a breakfast meal at a major fast food chain this day.   I also have to push myself to bring my lunch and some kind of snack to work . I  just recently saw a $48.00 deduction in my check and when I contacted the payroll department at my place of employment, they stated the $48.00 deduction was due to food purchased in the café, for” one week”.  Yes, I am crazy to spend that kind of money on lunches in the  café. But I had to kill that money grubbing café  cat!   Just brown bag  my lunches as much as possible.

Ok, so moving on.  In addition to bringing my lunch to work, I also have to keep up with the benefits my employer offers to me to help me with my classes here. My company offers tuition reimbursement for  the classes, I’m taking now.

In addition to this,  many  employers  may  additionally provide up to 10% discount off of a students tuition per semester.  Some even partner with textbook companies  that can help  get text books at a discounted rate too.  So my suggestion to everyone out there  who is pursuing higher education, check out any discounts or tuition reimbursements  an employer may offer. Its just another option to save money.

Here’s  another way I save money on my educational expenses,  discontinuing  the purchase of  online E- textbooks.

Now it took me a long time to catch on to this., But when I buy an E textbook, I get it right away, however, I spend ink and paper printing out chapters and I can’t resell the book back to anyone since it is in digital format. So, I have tried to make an effort to get the physical copy of textbooks, either renting them or buying them used.   When I’m done with the textbook, I can just sell it back if it was purchased. I understand that some books are only obtainable in digital format for certain classes, in which a student has no choice but purchase an E textbook.  But if there is an option to rent or purchase books, these are the best options in my opinion .

Ok well that’s it for now. I will try to provide more suggestions and ideas as time goes on.

See you next time. Remember, save those pennies.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

